No sound on my MacBook Pro

Picture of a Sound Mirror, with John Rousell

I’m in the middle of a very busy period of work right now and one of the things that helps to save my sanity during lonely nights in a Travelodge is the ability to listen to music or watch DVDs on my laptop.  My laptop is a 15″ MacBook Pro and I wouldn’t swap it for the world.  However, it does have its idiosyncrasies! Idiosyncrasies that often make we want to just chuck it out of the window.

At this moment in time, I cannot load the latest copy of Microsoft Office onto the laptop because it simply won’t read the (official, paid for) DVD. It will however (fingers crossed) read other DVDs so that problem is on the back shelf until I can get to one of the ‘local’ Apple Stores (all an hours drive away).

A much more immediate problem appeared recently.

As I travelled back from Maidenhead last Friday, I continued to work on some documents as I listened to music on my headphones. So far, so normal. Then this weekend, as I worked on my previous blog post, I wished to listen to music without the headphones but no sound would come out of the laptop. I tried everything I knew to cure the problem but without success. So it was ‘on to the Internet’ …

I found this post was probably the most technically correct, but the solution didn’t work for me. However, the author did lead me to this forum, where the cure was really found. My worry about this solution though (it DID work) is twofold:

  1. A) – the forum thread started back in 2006 (so it’s not a new problem – come on Apple, get your finger out) and
  2. B) – a matchstick! Really? A £1,300 laptop has to be prodded with a matchstick!!! Grrr.

Anyway, many thanks to everyone who bothers to post solutions to techie problems on the internet. You are the salt of the earth. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

