World Book Night

World Book Night 2012 logoTomorrow, Monday 23rd April 2012, is World Book Night.

World Book Night is a celebration of reading and books which sees tens of thousands of passionate volunteers gift books in their communities to share their love of reading. 1,000,000 books are given out in total – half of these are donated directly to hospitals, prisons and care homes, and the other half go to the Givers to distribute amongst individuals in their communities.

I’d never heard of this event until last year, when Karen Ford presented me with a book for World Book Night 2011. [See]. Then, I’d thought that I had to buy the books to distribute, but no, the books are supplied for me to distribute.

I therefore have 24 copies of Misery by Stephen King to distribute.

Picture of books taken from web site.

I can’t remember exactly how the selection of books went but I think I was given the list of books to be given away (see picture on left) and asked to pick my top five (may have been ten). I then had to say why I liked the book and why I would want to give that particular one away to friends.

I think Misery was my third or fourth choice. It has been a while since I read it, but I do remember it being more gripping than the film (which starred Kathey Bates and James Caan.

I suspect that I had also chosen The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, a book that I loved reading; Small Island by Andrea Levy, which an interesting read; Sleepyhead by Mark Billingham and A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Not because I didn’t like the others, but because I could remember enough about these choices to write a short review 🙂

Anyway, watch the news tomorrow and the World  Book Night web site for the launch and look out for friends wanting to give you a book. Enjoy reading!

2 Responses to “World Book Night”

  1. armaitus Says:

    The Waterstones on New Street is hosting a World Book Night event this evening, with wine and free books.

    There’s a facebook event page and everything 😉 http://www.facebook.com/events/430115027005885/


Leave a Reply

