Jaiku and the like

I’ve been a fan of social media for several years now.

My interest began with Jaiku, which uniquely allowed conversations to be grouped and which allowed replies to exceed the normal 140-character rule then the norm with Twitter.

I first mentioned Jaiku in my old self-hosted blog and this is the earliest post I can find on WayBackMachine.

Sadly the site was soon gobbled up by Google as part of an early attempt to join the burgeoning social media explosion.

Google tried and failed to compete with Twitter and Facebook with their Wave and Buzz, neither of which caught anyone’s attention. They eventually came up with Google+, which seems to have attracted more widespread attention.

I regularly access Twitter and Facebook, as both reader and contributor. But how many sites do I have to visit to keep up with all of my online chums and family?

I can find my peers on Twitter and regularly find things that support my own CPD. I also share things that interest me, mainly work things, but often more light hearted things too.

Some of this occurs with Facebook too, but I tend to use this more flippantly and really only go there to see what friends and family from across the world are doing or to share scurrilous stuff that amuses me.

But I don’t visit either site as much as I once did, mainly because much of my recent work has been ‘online’ and both sites have become a distraction. Actually, that’s untrue, I do visit them regularly, but not at the times I used to (I used to access pretty much synchronously). Now they often have to wait until I pick up my iPad and view the posts via Flipboard – which is a much nicer experience.

I’ve been reluctant to move over to (or to ALSO access) Google+ because I really don’t have the time to get involved over there as well. I already have to make critical decisions about how, where and when I communicate with colleagues and friends. I’m lucky enough to have a good number of online friends, that I can call friends – because I’ve met them, often I’ve also worked with them and I can trust them and their judgment.

However, my F2F friends, those I went to school with or met in another ‘work’ life, do not generally have such a rich and powerful online presence as me, so I’m used to contacting them by telephone, text and/or email. I’m sort of worn out now, with all of the ways available to communicate.

It’s like those days of Betamax, VHS and Video2000 – so much choice, but no clear winner. Yet.

2 Responses to “Jaiku and the like”

  1. James Clay Says:

    Ah such a pity that you’ve not on Google+ it reminds me so much of Jaiku, it would be nice to have all the old familiar faces back talking and discussing as we did back then. Twitter is still too much a broadcast network for real conversations and I just don’t like Facebook, again as it doesn’t work for me for conversations. Google + does and works well.

    Hopefully you may change your find.

    James

  2. armaitus Says:

    Have you noticed that WordPress seems to have changed your title to 1304?

    It did that to me last night… go figure.

    The social media market is flooded, without any clear indicator of who or what will be the next big thing.

    The apps we’ve grown to love/hate/ignore over the last few years have all changed to a point that they’re much more different to their initial form and function.

    LinkedIN has become a hub for recruitment spam, Twitter is now all but useless, as it is crammed with idle tweets and spam requests from SEO companies. Facebook is all about adverts and games (then it always was) but is still pushed by die-hards as a valid collaboration resource (despite the stalkers and data-insecurity).

    I’ve actually started looking at self-created alternatives – specific to a niche area, like the LRP I partake in – by building my own hub I don’t need to rely on any one social media network – I can just tap in as and when. I’ve heard you mention things like Joomla and Drupal in the past – both of which seem almost to be left behind and yet come across as very useful when it comes to creating this kind of thing.

    I think I learnt that from my experiences with WordPress. Using WordPress I get to spam multiple networks with the details I want to, without the limitations inherent within the social networks themselves.

    That being said, I still check Facebook over others, but that is driven by the level of activity amongst my online contacts rather than any other preference.


Leave a Reply

