300th #SugSnip

Earlier today, I posted my 300th consecutive #sugsnip (the first was published on January 1st 2011). Here’s what it said:

#sugsnip Barbed wire was patented by Joseph Glidden, following Michael Kelly’s earlier development, ‘thorny wire’ http://bitly.com/nAzt3z – and here’s a picture to go with it – http://bit.ly/n4OvXV

I most recently wrote about my #sugsnip challenge back in July http://bit.ly/p5JXP1 after I’d made the 200th daily posting to Twitter. Nothing much has changed.  I’ve posted several special weeks like ‘Materials’ and ‘Compare Words’, and I’ve managed to keep up to the eclectic demands of my subject matter.

I’ve also introduced an ‘Obituary 2011’ feature on Sunday’s too. Morbid I know – but it’s interesting to find out (remember) just who has died this year! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deaths_in_2011 is a great starting point for this sort of research. I’ve restricted my ‘findings’ to those people I have been aware of in my life, whether sportsmen or women or other types of celebrity. I’ve purposely avoided the more public deaths (Amy Winehouse, Osama Bin Laden etc.) and only hope that my publications (there have been some surprises) do not distress anyone.

There’s still along way to go (65 days unless I’m very mistaken) and there’s still time for a few ‘special’ weeks. Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep up to the need for constant research and regular checking that the posts have gone (from Hootsuite these days).

Has anyone started using this sort of short, sharp delivery of information/reminders with learners yet?

One Response to “300th #SugSnip”

  1. Gail Armstrong Says:

    News travels fast these days! I clicked on the link for wikipedia and Gadhafi was at the top. This was before it even showed up on my homepage news as “captured, possibly dead.”


Leave a Reply

