fur.ly

I came across fur.ly today.

What a difference it will make to my #sugsnip series of Twitter postings. For more about #sugsnip please see my original post and last week’s review.

Fur.ly is a URL shortener!

It works in much the same way that bit.ly and snipurl (and many others) take long internet addresses (URLs = Uniform Resource Locators) and shrink them down to a more memorable size. (e.g. the address of last weeks #sugsnip posting reduces down to http://bit.ly/sugsnip and http://snipurl.com/25ph3l)

Fur.ly however, goes a stage further and can hold several links in one shortened URL.

For my #sugsnip series, this will be (eventually) a great boon. I say eventually because I already have quite a few set up with the Tweet-schedulers I mentioned in my previous post and a few more stored ready to go. The point of #sugsnip is to model the use of micro-blogging tools as a means of knowledge delivery – short, sharp bits of information that have all been double checked for accuracy.

The double-checking means that most #sugsnips carry two shortened URLs (usually by bit.ly) that direct the reader to two different web sites (there may well have been more) supporting the information supplied. Quite often I have to visit several sites, especially if one of my sources has been wikipedia, as many websites seem to just copy from there. I DO try to find corroborative evidence before posting.

However, the use of two URLs does take up valuable characters that could be used to introduce the subject in question. Using fur.ly will allow me to not only put my usual two URLs inside the one link, but others too – if I feel it to be useful.

Many thanks for the supportive comments I received after last week’s post – especially to Lisa who commented on the post itself. 🙂

3 Responses to “fur.ly”

  1. bit.ly – a better LMS? « EduVel Says:

    […] The power of fur.ly … on Response to Kathy SchrockThe power of fur.ly … on fur.lydsugden on Response to Kathy SchrockKathy Schrock on Response to Kathy Schrock#sugsnip […]

  2. The power of fur.ly – part one « EduVel Says:

    […] to Kathy SchrockKathy Schrock on Response to Kathy Schrock#sugsnip – the… on fur.ly#sugsnip – the… on Twitter #sugsnip – first…#sugsnip – the… […]

  3. #sugsnip – the first three months « EduVel Says:

    […] Blackburn College ag… on LSIS Funded Workshopsfur.ly « EduVe… on Twitter #sugsnip – first…fur.ly « EduVe… on […]


Leave a Reply

