Twitter #sugsnip – first review

It’s been a few weeks now since I started my #sugsnip challenge. I started on January 1st with the intention of posting a snippet of information to Twitter every day for a year. https://eduvel.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/twitter-sugsnip/.

I’m now approaching my fiftieth (50th) uninterrupted posting (19th February 2011) and thought it might be worthwhile reviewing the process so far.

I had thought that the idea of posting short, informative messages via Twitter (but the challenges outcomes would not necessarily mean that Twitter would be exclusively used) was a sound one for use in education. Teachers might see how they could send similar snippets of subject based information to learners and I firmly believe that modelling this idea is a useful way of evaluating its potential impact.

Since January 1st I’ve recorded 13 comments, re-tweets or other re-postings from readers. A 26% response from a disinterested audience doesn’t prove anything, especially as it is 26% of the total posts that received a response and not 26% of the actual readers – who’s number I cannot possibly know.

I remain quite encouraged by that feedback nevertheless, but would be more encouraged, if there were more of it. Perhaps my eclectic choice of subject matter is what prevents visible interest? I have tried to do subject-weeks (e.g. food, history etc.) but maybe even these are too off the wall. Please let me know.

Remembering to post something everyday has been more of a challenge than I had thought it might be. To overcome this I though it would be worthwhile trying out a few of the Tweet Schedulers available. I’ve tried three so far:

Socialoomphhttp://www.socialoomph.com/

I didn’t stay with this site to long because it just didn’t work for me. Whilst it does have all sorts of facilities in addition to Tweet scheduling, it missed a few of my scheduled Tweets, very early on. The interface isn’t as clear and straightforward as some either.

Twufferhttp://twuffer.com/

So far, Twuffer has been my favourite, although it has let me down a few times. Out of 37 Twuffered Tweets, 3 didn’t show. They seemed to have ‘gone’ but then didn’t show on Twitter. However, although I moved onto another scheduler after those three failures, I will try again because the interface is straightforward and you have to login through Twitter, so there is no separate registration.

Futuretweetshttp://futuretweets.com

So far, futuretweets has not let me down. Once you are ‘in’ it works in very much the same way as Twuffer and seems very easy to work with. Of the two I would still prefer Twuffer, but this might only be because I tried that first.

I’ll try others as I go along.

So what do readers think? Has anyone noticed my #sugsnip challenge on Twitter? Could you use a similar methodology to communicate with learners?

3 Responses to “Twitter #sugsnip – first review”

  1. #sugsnip – the first three months « EduVel Says:

    […] Blackburn College ag… on LSIS Funded Workshopsfur.ly « EduVe… on Twitter #sugsnip – first…fur.ly « EduVe… on Twitter #SugSnipLisa Featherstone on Twitter #sugsnip – […]

  2. fur.ly « EduVel Says:

    […] Lisa Featherstone on Twitter #sugsnip – first…Learn Life » B… on e-Learning Contexte-Learning Stuff … on […]

  3. Lisa Featherstone Says:

    Hi Dave

    I really enjoy your sugsnips and especially like the eclectic nature of the subject matter. I don’t always have the time to follow through the links but the one’s that I have, I’ve found really interesting. These have included – the meaning of Misandry, Babe Ruth’s transfer fee, Natalie Portman, the number of chromosones in a swede (vegetable) and the red tractor mark on British meat.

    So keep it up – I for one am a very contented reader!

    Lisa


Leave a Reply

