iPad goes to Chicago

So, day one of my working holiday in the USA. Wherever possible, I am using the iPad as a means on being productive whilst on the move. The first thing I’ve done is but ‘documents to go’ on James Clay’s recommendation and I’m writing this piece, today, on that. I’ve opened a new document and simply started. In landscape mode, the text is big enough and the keyboard is HUGE – certainly big enough for two fingered typing at a speed my brain can keep up with. I’m using documents to goIto draft this, instead of the WordPress App because the App simply isn’t good enough. I could (I know) email this to WordPress, but then the post isn’t formatted in a way I like, so it’s better that I create the text here and then open up the online version when I can and post from there. We’ll see.

We set off last night (Tuesday!) about 5.30pm as we had to drop my brother Andrew and his partner Debbie at the airport for the first leg of their return to Australia. They’d been with us for a month and will finish off their holiday with a few days in Dubai. We then went to the airport Travelodge, where Sharon had secured us a deal that offered a night’s sleep and a meal for two for less than £50. The meal was no better than could be expected but we were let down on the draft beer front! They had none – a myriad of bottled beers but no draft; so we shared a reasonable bottle of Chillean CabSav. Despite it’s proximity to the airport and to the M56 our night was undisturbed by noise.

We’re now in Dusseldorf, waiting for our connection to Chicago – so if there’s WiFi there, I may well post this en route. As it happens, I’ve got a little more to mention now we’re in the air – the food is tremendous! Well done Lufthansa.

I’m writing this in portrait mode now, mainly because I’m working off the seat-back tray and need a little angle. The keyboards is still an ok size, but I’m not working as quickly in this cramped environment. Still, it’s much better than trying with a full size laptop.

Well, the above was written on the iPad but because the WordPress App is functionally useless, I’ve had to finish off on the MacBook Pro – and that’s been a real trial of patience. We’re in Chicago at the moment, we’ve been on the road since 5.30am and it’s almost midnight (18.5 hours?) and our next flight is in about 2 hours (1.75 hour flight!!). Because, even cutting and pasting my notes into the Safari iPad version of Wrodpress didn’t work, I’ve now connected Documents to Go with my Dropbox and Google Docs and have copied the notes to iPad Evernote App. So – I can access the words I wrote on the iPad in any of a number of online places. So – far – so good. If this appears online, we’ll all know that this has worked? Too tired to write more – goodnight.

3 Responses to “iPad goes to Chicago”

  1. dsugden Says:

    I’ve just had another go James and the Safari interface won’t allow me to paste the Flickr URL into the image from URL window. It did allow me to paste text I’d copied from Google Docs.

    Google Docs and Docs To Go also bring up another error! I can save to Google Docs, and I can access from Google Docs, but I can’t open the Googel Doc in Doc To Go because ‘the file type is not recognised’ Grrr

  2. James Clay Says:

    I am still trying to work out the best way to blog from the iPad.

    I do use the WordPress App, but only for text only blog posts as like you I have had issues with images.

    You should be able to use Safari on the iPad to enter text if the text entry box is in HTML mode. However I have also found that other parts of the page (ie categories) don’t work as they should.

    I did spend some hard earned cash, £1.79, on BlogPress but that was very similar to the WordPress App and not worth the money!

    More thought and investigation needed.

    James

  3. Day one « My Holiday Weblog Says:

    […] Posted July 29, 2010 by dsugden in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment https://eduvel.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/ipad-goes-to-chicago/ […]


Leave a Reply

