Food quality

Basmati Rice - not the brand discussed.

I’m sat inside the house right now because it’s so hot outside (this is not a complaint). My feet are surrounded by a carpet of dandelion seeds which have blown in from outside as the all of the doors and windows are open. From time to time the seed-heads are like a fog – where do they all come from?  This weekend we’re having the sort of weather we often dream of and because of this we’re encouraged to eat outside. Barbecues are the order of the day.

But, to be honest – it seems a real hassle to take all the summer chairs and tables out of the hut they live in, just to get the gas barbecue out for just the two of us. We’re both going to Vienna later this week, so we can’t just leave them outside. I therefore thought we could have a tandoori chicken meal last night – which in the end, was a disaster!

I’d marinaded the chicken and decided to cook it on the pizza stone Gail bought us earlier in the year. She’d thought we were deprived because we didn’t have such a thing and to be fair, I now realise we were deprived, because we’ve since had some wonderfully crisp pizzas from it. However – take a tip from me, don’t try using it as a tandoor. Nuff said.

I’d decided we could have some of the basmati rice we’d bought on special offer at Tescos. I bought a huge bag when they had it on offer a few weeks ago but I should have known better – it was tasteless. I mean, basmati should be delicately flavoured and as such should be cooked carefully too. It’s not that I don’t know how to cook rice. It was just the very worst quality, packaged to look like the real thing. a  picture of the sun setting over Scapegoat Hill

I should know better because I decided a long time ago that there are no real bargains at Tesco, or to be fair, any of the large supermarkets. To be a bargain something should be of the same quality you would normally expect and either be cheaper or in larger volume. This was both of the latter but certainly not the former. We’ve been caught out a couple of times with wine too. For many years my favourite red wine was Rosemount Shiraz – usually about £8.99. I’ve been tempted by the special offers (@£5-6) a few times but it has never tasted as good. A wine friend of mine (inasmuch as he’s someone who has made his living selling the stuff) does keep telling me that supermarkets do not get the best wines to put on their shelves. I’ve certainly not bought any ‘bargains’ recently.

There’s hope too in the newly elected ConDem(ed?) government’s ‘Coalition Programme for Government‘ They say “We will introduce honesty in food labelling” (pg 13) – which is another thing I hate about food companies. Why try to hide what’s in the packet? See also: https://eduvel.wordpress.com/2009/09/22/misleading-food-labels-again/ and my previous Posterous post

Leave a Reply

