Irritated

I can’t make my mind up whether or not to be irritated by all the ‘Top Ten’ lists I seeing bandied about inside my community of practice, or to just ignore them.

It seems that many of us in Education like to pontificate about what we see as the Top Ten best things since sliced bread, or the definitive list of requirements for one thing or another: but not all of the authors/bloggers take the trouble to add the one necessary justification – ‘in my opinion‘.Having said that, I think my real issue is with the way the lists are passed around Twitter and the like.

I see countless ‘Top Ten’ lists being tweeted and then RT’d (re-Tweetedlook out for that in the next edition of the Oxford English dictionary) but I wonder how many colleagues take the trouble to read the blogged lists before re-tweeting. Because some are absolute drivel.

Some authors follow their own strict advisory guidelines and use the term ‘I think/believe/consider’ – whatever: but others are just too definitive. It would be unfair to list the one that broke my camel’s back of silence today but it concerned ‘tips’ and ‘effective video’. Fair enough – it was a good post and it was re-Tweeted a lot of times, many people re-Tweeting already re-Tweeted posts.

My worry started when I wondered how many re-Tweeters had actually read the article. I did, and I enjoyed reading it but if I’d been the first person to pick it up and re-Tweet the address, I would have wanted to add my comment, which would have been (given the 140 character limitation) “enjoyed this but only concerns ‘push’ teaching“. I might then have posted a comment on the blog (at the time of writing this no one has commented on the post itself – but I have done so now) and hoped that the ‘science’ of effective video could take a step forward.

So – please enough with the lists now AND if you’re going to re-Tweet something like a blog post, please try to expand the discussion by commenting on the RT or on the blog itself. Otherwise we simply end up with a list of lists that mean nothing.


One Response to “Irritated”

  1. Alison Lones Says:

    I’ll put that on my list!


Leave a Reply

