Drafts

This is the first Saturday for many weeks where I’ve had no work to do. At all. But it all starts again tomorrow.

The Advanced e-Guide/PDA programme kicked off last month with the first face to face meetings last week (in the middle of my Leeds-European week). The participants were reminded that (to get the two pronged funding) they should have submitted ‘action plans’ by 20th November. Which sort of gave us two weeks to get draft action plans read and returned before the finals had to be in. The 20th is an important date because if we (Sally, Nigel and me) don’t get them by then the Advanced e-Guide/PDA won’t get their £1,200 bursary or £1,500 capital funding. So – next weekend and Monday, we (I) will be reading action plans and (hopefully) signing them off in time for the money to be released. But this week it’s been one for chasing up drafts, reading drafts and commenting on drafts. This has been appreciated by those that submitted them but that is less than half the group I have to support. So tomorrow and Monday I will have to be chasing up those that haven’t sent in drafts.

There’s still no news of my ‘lost’ camera from the Thistle Hotel in Birmingham. I wonder what I have to do to get a manger to talk to me?

On Thursday all the MoLeNET Mentors met in London as part of this years (round 3) programme. Once again it was great to be there with everyone – all gurus to me and all considered good friends. But I do wonder why we were there in the afternoon. Some of us I understand – because the LSN sales team had to be informed about MoLeNET life and mobile learning generally, but Elaine, James, Mick and I were not involved and were only listening to what we already (mainly) knew. I suspect that if the four of us had been asked to leave and work in a different room for 2 hours, the product of that meeting would have been far more useful that the 2 hours we did spend.

Then Lilian, Ron and I went to Nottingham to join the Becta-supported (delivered by ALT) Sucessful Deployment of networked hand-held devices workshop at the National College for School Leadership. This was a vibrant meeting with lots of different input and cross-sector talk about the pedagogies of mobile learning. We three had been asked to come along and foster discussion by delivering our cool wall idea. I think it took a while for delegates to ‘get it’ but eventually they did (I think). Out point had been to begin the thinking around the use uses (video, photography, text, search, memo, reflection etc) rather than the kit itself – also, what tool might the learner own that could enable these uses?  A great day (Friday) – really enjoyed it.

Got home as quick as I could because Karen and David were coming up for the weekend. Karen is at TechDis today (Saturday) but Dave and I are shortly going to the pub!

One Response to “Drafts”

  1. Christoph von weitzel Says:

    Dear David,

    thank you very much for your story about you and Sharons cats. I do also love cats and during my childhood we had cats as well- specially when cats and dogs are living together there is a lot of fun how the cats mostly ddirecting the dogs- I had seen thhe most fully situations. If it would be possible Edith and me will have a cat again. the nice thing is, that they are far more independent than dogs.

    Today I tried to create a foto story and every time i would like to save it , it disappears. That happend toe to times today. Now I start again- and if I succede I will send you a link to youtube were I would like to publish it.

    The best to you cordially Cristoph.


Leave a Reply

