Alzheimers

I came upon a news item today on the BBC [http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/8132122.stm] which suggested that “Drinking five cups of coffee a day could reverse memory problems seen in Alzheimer’s disease“. Tests conducted on mice had re-confimed earlier research that also suggested caffeine could hamper “the production of the protein plaques which are the hallmark of the disease“. Which in many ways is good news as I like coffee (proper coffee, from a proper copper coffee pot!) – but sadly, it doesn’t like me. Coffee can cause acid reflux, so I drink it with care (and some admiration).

I became interested in the effects of Alzheimer’s some time ago as I see myself charging headlong into that particular morass. I sincerely and fervently hope that I don’t inflict myself upon my family in that way, but it is a door that flaps around in my future (along with other more and less scary doors) and one I will make every effort to avoid.

My grandma suffered from the dementia side of Alzheimers as she got older. At 80 she recognised me as someone she knew and believed that I was in fact my dad. She simply blanked that fact when we (my dad and me) were together in her presence.  As she grew older she often asked “who do you belong to?” and given that peice of information could often piece little things together. So scary, but not so bad. She once told me (in a rare lucid moment) that she missed two things in getting old – dancing (she danced right up until her mid seventies) and reading books. “I love books David – but can’t remember what I’ve read when I turn the page“.  My dad who is now 82 has lived in fear that it will decend upon him – but it seems to have passed him by as he is as alert as he always was.

My friend’s mother-in-law retired from teaching, spent a quite lucid year or so in retirement before falling foul of the full blown ‘I have no idea what I’m doing – at all’  version of the disease. Relly really scary.

And why do I think that I might have the skipped generation version? No reason really – I forget things, but I think we all do and the more work I have going on, the more things I have to think about: the more things I have to forget. It is a worry though, that I spent so many years of my life cooking in kitchens where the de rigeur cooking utensils were huge aluminium pans. I also have a fine set of industry standard aluminium pans I use at home. However: There is circumstantial evidence linking this metal with Alzheimer’s disease, but no causal relationship has yet been proved.

Hey ho – life goes on.

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/index.php

http://www.alzheimers-research.org.uk/

2 Responses to “Alzheimers”

  1. Moving house « EduVel Says:

    […] brains don’t really get old but illnesses apart [e.g. https://eduvel.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/alzheimers/%5D they do mature. My own brain thinks that I am […]

  2. colhawksworth Says:

    An interesting article from the BBC… I’ve always been an advocate of damn fine coffee and am convinced its medicinal properties outweigh the negative press.

    Alzheimers would be funny, if it wasn’t so tragic… I had a Great-Aunt who suffered from it and was quite aggressive in the end, after being so wonderfully eccentric.

    Let’s hope we don’t go the same way… get a brew on!


Leave a Reply

